History of Small Kunshan Mountain

( chinadaily.com.cn )

Updated: 2012-05-23

  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 0

Small Kunshan Mountain is at the southernmost tip of the nine peaks. It is 54.3m above sea level. Its circumference is 1.5km and area is about 33.3ha. When looking over it, it is like an inverted basin in a shape of "8". When seen from distance, it is like a lying ox.

The northern peak is similar to an ox head. You can even find springs and rocks similar to ox eyes, nose and nostrils, so it is commonly called "Ox Head Mountain". Unfortunately, due to quarrying, the "ox nose" was destroyed.

Xiaokun Mountain is the hometown of famous writers, Lu Ji and Lu Yun in the Western Jin Dynasty (AD 265~316). To distinguish from Kunshan Mountain (also known as Maan Mountain) in Jiangsu, people called this mountain "Xiaokun Mountain".

In the Ming dynasty (AD 1368~1644) and Qing dynasty (AD 1644~1911), Small Kunshan Mountain was covered with luxuriant trees and had many attractions. The wars in the late Ming Dynasty and the early Qing Dynasty, and the invasion of Japanese army destroyed the attractions, the trees and turned the mountain into a wasteland. After the People's Republic of China was founded, Small Kunshan Mountain gradually restored its vitality.

It is recorded in the old annals that the attractions in Small Kunshan Mountain also include: Lu Ji and Lu Yun's House in the north of the mountain. It was the former residence of Lu Ji and Lu Yun.

Copyright © China Daily All Rights Reserved, Constructed by China Daily
Official Website of the Sheshan National Tourist Resort, Shanghai