History of Lushan Mountain

( chinadaily.com.cn )

Updated: 2012-05-23

  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 0

The mountain is opposite Zhongjia Mountain and to the northeast of Sheshan Mountain. According to the Annals of Songjiang Prefecture written during the reign of Emperor Jiaqing in the Qing Dynasty (AD 1522~1566), this mountain was named after a person surnamed, "Lu".

Later it was wrongly called Luoshan Mountain. Lushan Mountain used to be a small hill and covered only 0.23 square kilometer. In the 1930s, the hill was exploded for quarrying. Now the hill no longer exists and there is only a large pit with a diameter of about 200m and a depth of about 60m.

Copyright © China Daily All Rights Reserved, Constructed by China Daily
Official Website of the Sheshan National Tourist Resort, Shanghai